G.R. Little Music Library

Overview of Chicago/Turabian Citation Style

The Chicago/Turabian citation style is widely used in academic writing, particularly in history, the arts, and musicology. It provides two main documentation systems:

1. Notes and Bibliography (NB): Preferred in humanities disciplines, including music. Sources are cited using footnotes or endnotes, and a bibliography is included at the end.
2. Author-Date: Common in social sciences. Sources are cited in-text using parentheses, and a reference list is included at the end.

This guide will focus on the Notes and Bibliography system, which is most relevant for music research.

Key Features of the Notes and Bibliography System

• Footnotes or Endnotes: Citations appear as superscript numbers in the text, with corresponding notes providing full details of the source.
• Bibliography: A complete list of sources is included at the end of the document, formatted differently from the notes.
• Consistency: Each citation includes the same core information, but the format varies between notes and bibliography entries.

Important Points for Music Sources

1. Unique Formats: Music sources such as scores, recordings, and performance notes may require adapted citation formats. Always include details like the performer, ensemble, or conductor when relevant.
2. Online Materials: When citing online music resources, include the URL and access date if no publication date is available.
3. Translations: If citing a translated work, mention the translator’s name in the citation.
4. Discographies: Use specific formats to credit performers, composers, and recording details.

Final Tips

• Punctuation and Italics: Pay attention to the placement of commas, periods, and italics for titles.
• Abbreviations: Use standard abbreviations for common terms (e.g., "ed." for editor, "trans." for translator).
• Consistency: Ensure consistency in formatting across all citations.

Common Examples in Chicago/Turabian Style

1. Books

Footnote: Mark Katz, Capturing Sound: How Technology Has Changed Music (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010), 45.
Bibliography: Katz, Mark. Capturing Sound: How Technology Has Changed Music. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010.
Pay attention: Ensure that book titles are italicized and publication details follow the order: City: Publisher, Year.

2. Journal Articles

Footnote: Jane Ginsburg, "Legal Protection of Performers’ Rights," Journal of Musicology 23, no. 3 (2006): 308.
Bibliography: Ginsburg, Jane. "Legal Protection of Performers’ Rights." Journal of Musicology 23, no. 3 (2006): 305–319.
Pay attention: Article titles go in quotation marks, journal titles are italicized, and volume and issue numbers are included.

3. Scores

Footnote: Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67 (New York: Dover Publications, 1998).
Bibliography: Beethoven, Ludwig van. Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67. New York: Dover Publications, 1998.
Pay attention: Treat scores like books, but include additional information like opus number or arranger, if applicable.

4. Recordings

Footnote: Glenn Gould, piano, Bach: The Goldberg Variations, Sony Classical 52610, 1993, CD.
Bibliography: Gould, Glenn, piano. Bach: The Goldberg Variations. Sony Classical 52610, 1993. CD.
Pay attention: Include the performer’s name and role (e.g., piano) and details about the recording (e.g., label, catalog number, format).

5. Websites

Footnote: "Mozart’s Life," Mozart Project, accessed January 10, 2025, https://www.mozartproject.org.
Bibliography: Mozart Project. "Mozart’s Life." Accessed January 10, 2025. https://www.mozartproject.org.
Pay attention: Include the access date and URL. If the publication date is missing, the access date becomes essential.