Skip to Main Content
Books - In this section
In this section, you will find selected e-books about the history of photography along with links to the E-book databases. There are physical books also available on-demand basis. Please click on this link to search the library catalog and contact your librarian if you are looking for a specific title.
You can directly search for e-books from the library catalog. However, you can also go to the specific library database in order to search for an e-book. The Library offers access to nearly 200 thousand e-books in all academic disciplines including music. Books may be read online or downloaded for a short loan period to read offline. Here are the most well-known e-book databases that the library subscribes:
Also, here is a list of other e-book databases that the library subscribes.
Photography History & Commentary
The History of Photography by Margaret Vallencourt; Christine Poolos (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
A valuable resource for budding photographers and fans of the visual medium alike, this volume traces the invention and early evolution and techniques of photography, from daguerreotypes to early attempts at color. The development of specific genres, such as portraiture, photojournalism, and fine art photography, is broken up with substantial sidebars that spotlight giants of the medium. Blending historical narrative, personal biographies, and photographs illustrating the works being examined, this book helps readers understand the rich and complex history of a relatively new visual art.
The Indigenous Lens? by Markus Ritter (Editor); Staci G. Scheiwiller (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
The historiography of early photography has scarcely examined Islamic countries in the Near and Middle East, although the new technique was adopted very quickly there by the 1840s. Which regional, local, and global aspects can be made evident? What role did autochthonous image and art traditions have, and which specific functions did photography meet since its introduction? This collective volume deals with examples from Iran, the Ottoman Empire, and the Arab lands and with the question of local specifics, or an ,,indigenous lens." The contributions broach the issues of regional histories of photography, local photographers, specific themes and practices, and historical collections in these countries. They offer, for the first time in book form, a cross-section through a developing field of the history of photography.
Photography: History and Theory by Jae Emerling
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Photography: History and Theory introduces students to both the history of photography and critical theory. From its inception in the nineteenth century, photography has instigated a series of theoretical debates. In this new text, Jae Emerling therefore argues that the most insightful way to approach the histories of photography is to address simultaneously the key events of photographic history alongside the theoretical discourse that accompanied them. While the nineteenth century is discussed, the central focus of the text is on modern and contemporary photographic theory. Particular attention is paid to key thinkers, such as Baudelaire, Barthes, and Sontag.
Stories from the Camera by Michele M. Penhall and Kymberly Pinder
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
The remarkable photography collection of the University of New Mexico Art Museum owes its unique character and quality to the directors, curators, scholars, and artists who have taught, worked, and studied at the museum and in the university’s Department of Art and Art History. In this indispensable book, these distinguished scholars and artists reflect on the pictures from the collection that hold significance to them. Through their own professional and artistic practice, they represent different generations of aesthetic voices and intellectual directions. As one of the earliest collegiate institutions to begin collecting photography, the University of New Mexico Art Museum holds a stunning array of images that span photography’s 175-year history. In addition to iconic works by famous photographers, this book also features less familiar but equally masterful pictures. Together, these essays represent a unique history of photography and this renowned museum.
On Photography by Walter Benjamin; Esther Leslie (Edited and Translated by)
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Walter Benjamin's 1931 essay "A Short History of Photography" is a landmark in the understanding and criticism of the medium, offering surprising new takes on such photographic pioneers as David Octavius Hill and Nicéphore Niépce and their aesthetic and technical achievements. On Photography presents a new translation of that essay along with a number of other writings by Benjamin, some of them presented in English for the first time. Translator and editor Esther Leslie sets Benjamin's work in context with prefaces to each piece and contributes a substantial introduction that considers Benjamin's engagement with photography in all its forms, including early commercial studio photography, the uses of photography in science, and much more.
Fifty Key Writers on Photography by Mark Durden (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
A clear and concise survey of some of the most significant writers on photography who have played a major part in defining and influencing our understanding of the medium. It provides a succinct overview of writing on photography from a diverse range of disciplines and perspectives and examines the shifting perception of the medium over the course of its 170 year history. Key writers discussed include: Roland Barthes Susan Sontag Jacques Derrida Henri Cartier-Bresson Geoffrey Batchen Fully cross-referenced and in an A-Z format, this is an accessible and engaging introductory guide.
Photography and the USA by Mick Gidley
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
From Ansel Adams to Carleton Watkins, Diane Arbus to Weegee, Richard Avedon to James VanDerZee, American photographers have recorded their vast, multicultural nation in images that, for more than a hundred years, have come to define the USA. In Photography and the USA, Mick Gidley explores not only the medium of photography and the efforts to capture key events and moments through photographs, but also the many ways in which the medium has played a formative role in American culture. Photography and the USA encompasses the major movements, figures and works that are crucial to understanding American photography, but also pays attention to more obscure aspects of photography's history. Focusing on works that reveal many different facets of America, its landscapes and its people, Gidley explores the ambiguities of American history and culture.
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Michael R. Peres (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-05-29
Over 450 color images, plus never before published images provided by the George Eastman House collection, as well as images from Ansel Adams, Howard Schatz, and Jerry Uelsmann to name just a few The role and value of the picture cannot be matched for accuracy or impact. This comprehensive treatise, featuring the history and historical processes of photography, contemporary applications, and the new and evolving digital technologies, will provide the most accurate technical synopsis of the current, as well as early worlds of photography ever compiled. This Encyclopedia, produced by a team of world renown practicing experts, shares in highly detailed descriptions, the core concepts and facts relative to anything photographic.
Guide to the Literature of Art History by Max Marmor; Alex Ross
Call Number: N380 .M36 2005
Publication Date: 2004-09-27
The best electronic art and architectural history sources
Cumulative forty-year bibliography of art history literature, with GLAH 1
Critical selection of nearly all literature in art history, primarily in WesternEuropean languages, since 1977
Resources for art historians outside their areas of specialization
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University