This museum's website includes several exhibitions from the William B. Becker collection. The museum focuses on the first 75 years of photography, from its invention in 1839 until World War I. There is a Research Center with information on early photographic processes.
This website for the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film offers a history of the museum; a list of Frequently Asked Questions about Eastman, photography, and the museum; photographs of past, current, and upcoming exhibitions; and more.
This website provides information on the center's current, upcoming, and past exhibitions under "Museum" and a searchable database of ICP's Photography Collection as well as access to the center's online library catalog and archives under "Research Center."
The Library of Congress Prints and Photographs online catalog offers access to a wide variety of searchable collections.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art-Web Exhibition
Museum of Modern Art: Photography
New York, New York
This collection surveys photography's over 150 years of history, with online exhibitions that offer a range of international photographers, subjects, and processes.
This "grassroots, research-oriented agency" dates from 1971, beginning with a study of Californian women photographers, based on the collection of Peter E. Palmquist. The archive's focus has widened to include information on women photographers worldwide. The website includes a photo gallery, essays, and a biography and bibliography of Palmquist.
The PRC's website offers information on their current, upcoming, and past exhibitions as well as access to online exhibitions. Under "resources" are information on the journal _Loupe_, a link to the PRC blog, and access to the PRC library's online catalog.
UCRiverside/California Museum of Photography
Riverside, California
ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe
Premier institution for new technology. It is a house of all media and genres, a house of both spatial arts such as painting, photography, and sculpture and time-based arts such as film, video, media art, music, dance, theater, and performance. The ZKM was founded in 1989 with the mission of continuing the classical arts into the digital age. This is why it is sometimes called the »electronic or digital Bauhaus« – an expression that is traced back to the founding director Heinrich Klotz.
Exhibition: International Center of Photography
The Art of Photography is a website maintained by Ted Forbes. The mission is to offer a 360° view of image making.
Art21 is a celebrated global leader in presenting thought-provoking and sophisticated content about contemporary art, and the go-to place to learn first-hand from the artists of our time. A nonprofit organization, Art21’s mission is to inspire a more creative world through the works and words of contemporary artists. Art21 provides unparalleled access to the artist’s voice to diverse audiences around the world, using the power of digital media to introduce millions of people to contemporary art and artists.
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
Harvard University
A non-profit, artist-run organization. We provide direct support to artists working in the media of photography and digital imaging through residencies, publications, exhibitions, a community-access digital lab facility, and other related projects.
Seeing Time presents selected photographs from thirteen different projects, spanning forty years of Klett's photographs, some never before seen. The book showcases work from individual and collaborative projects alongside texts that examine the ideas behind Klett's practice, his collaborative processes, and the work's historical context.
Podcasts. Our objective is to circulate interviews, conversations and have a general dialogue about contemporary photography and a few other topics that interest us from music to cinema and literature.
Personal Work: ALL GOOD WORK IS PERSONAL
Personal work is vital to all creatives. It’s where we get to try things out, follow an obsession or just have fun. Or it’s the work of another artist, someone who inspires or shows the way. Either way, good work is always personal.
Resource guide to photography in the United States
Includes Google Maps and Google Street Views
Photo-Eye: Guide-G R A N T S / A W A R D S / F E L L O W S H I P S
Artists Index Page
SAINT LUCY
Launched in 2011 by Mark Alice Durant, Saint Lucy is devoted to writing about photography and contemporary art. Saint Lucy features essays, portfolios, and wide-ranging conversations with artists, writers, and curators.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University
