With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, the Bridgeman Image Library represents international museums, galleries, and artists by providing a central source of fine art for image users.
A newly launched platform aggregates digital collections from around the country and offers excellent tools to discover and explore them. Formats in this collection include an image, sound, moving image, and text.
From the cave painters of Altamira to the Surrealists, from ancient Roman sculpture to modern design, the Europeana Art History Collections introduces you to artists and artworks from across the whole of Europe. This site contains images, texts, sound recordings, videos, and 3D Objects
Provides access to high-resolution images of artworks housed in museums listed.
Search or browse through dozens of digital collections from the Library of Congress. The collections contain maps & photographs, letters, cartoons, diaries & newspapers, personal accounts of events, sound recordings & historic films. Most of the collections contain content that is dated prior to World War II.
Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO) - Photography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. This resource includes images from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas
The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from our museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 8.1 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with 860,477 images.
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives. It was launched in January 2008 with a pilot partnership with the Library of Congress. Today, participating institutions include many, many others, including those below, though it can be sometimes easier to search the individual sites themselves, so links follow for these two major sources:
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Flickr account hosting thousands of images that are also searchable via Trove.
Over 4.500.000 pictures, photos and objects
A database of 29,460,574 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. These are not necessarily art images, but it can be a good source for buildings, outdoor monuments, and architecture.
Contains catalog records and digital images of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress.
This collection contains over 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI). Users can limit their search by photographer, location, date and more.
A database of historical advertising images: 1850-1920.
This site indexes and displays American and Canadian print advertisements from 1911 to 1955.
"Tap into some of the world's most recognizable imagery, from one of the truly iconic magazine archives of the 20th century." ** Please note: Some photos take longer to load than others. If a picture does not load, please close the window and try selecting the image again. There is an option to purchase the images but you don't need to do this to view the photo.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University
