G.R. Little Library: Photography: Library Art Databases &amp; Photography Journals

Art Databases & Photography Journals

Art Databases
Photography Journals

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading resource for scholarly research in almost every field. Provides access to thousands of full-text journals, periodicals, reports, and more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater, and Cultural Studies.
https://proquest.libguides.com/artandhumanities
Fine Arts OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources on a wide variety of subjects. JSTOR will help you discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A platform for searching many ProQuest databases simultaneously. Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, and videos.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
An extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use, bringing together media from top museums, archives, scholars, and artists, with a specialized suite of tools for teaching and learning with visual materials — all rights-cleared for education and research. With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images, scholars can use Artstor to examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.

This is not a comprehensive list of photography journals that the library subscribes. If you are looking for a specific title of the journal please contact your librarian.

Articles

When to Use

Use journal articles to find in-depth information on a specific topic.
Articles in periodicals often provide the latest news or thought on a particular topic.
Scholarly journal articles typically analyze more specific topics than books do.
They are the primary means by which scholars in the natural sciences and most social sciences publish their research.

Selected Library Databases

A database provides access to published materials in scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other valuable information sources. Search databases below to find articles on your topic!

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Offers over 750 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books as well as over 63,000 images. Topics include advertising art, archaeology, architecture, costume design, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, videos, etc.
JSTOR
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, and videos.

Click to see the list of Databases

A note on peer-review

Peer-reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's professional colleagues or peers. The idea is that the reviewers will judge the writer on scholarly standards within the field by examining the research methodology, style, ethics, etc.

Most academic databases will allow you to find peer-reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.

Need a reminder on the peer-review process? Contact your librarian!

See this library guide explains peer-review articles in a much more detailed way: Peer-reviewed Explained

Types of Periodicals

Photography

Art Databases & Photography Journals

Popular Photography

European Photography

Smart Photography

Studio & Location Photography

Studio Photography & Design

The British Journal of Photography

Articles