Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Theory: Film Web Resources

This subject guide is designed for students who want to explore resources in Film Theory.

Film eJournal Sites

Bright Lights Film Journal:  This comprehensive site includes extensive feature articles, reviews, analysis of a variety of genres and national cinemas.  

Cineaste:  The web version of the esteemed print journal, this site includes articles, interviews, and reviews (of books, DVDs, and films).  Limited access to print content, but also features web exclusives.  

Film International:  This website, connected with the print journal of the same name, offers interviews, reviews, and articles for a wide audience; slightly less scholarly than Film Quarterly or Cineaste, for example, but nonetheless interesting and relevant.  

Film-Philosophy:  Film-Philosophy is an open-access peer-reviewed academic journal and it is dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy. Look here for articles, film reviews, and book reviews that synthesize film and philosophy; this site also functions as a portal for conference and publication Calls for Papers (CFP) and announcements.  Their website describes itself as "an international peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema."   

Film Quarterly:  A slick and useful web component to the popular and esteemed print journal, this site includes "web exclusives" and limited access to the content of each print journal.  The site's search engine can provide access to some of the journal's best reviews. 

Jump Cut: This site describes itself as a "review of contemporary media," though--as the journal has been published since 1974--it also offers a useful historical archive of earlier works that once were "contemporary."  The journal conceives of its audience as "interested in the radical analysis of mass culture and opposition media."   

Rouge:  One of the most lyrical, intelligent, and poetic journals of film scholarship, print or virtual.  Learn to write sensitively, carefully, smartly, and beautifully about film by reading these pieces.  Works by Adrian Martin, especially recommended.  

Scope:  A "fully peer-reviewed online journal by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham," which "provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of film history, theory, and criticism."  Features articles in addition to reviews of films, books, and conferences.  

Senses of Cinema:  A comprehensive database and journal, which features reports on film festivals, reviews of books and films, and articles.  Of particular interest might be the Great Directors database, which features encyclopedic entries and some critical analysis/evaluation on, you guessed it, 'great directors.'  Also the CTEQ Annotations offer short concise reviews of films old and new.  

Sight and Sound: An international film magazine (affiliated with the BFI, see above) that features substantive interviews, reviews, articles, polls, surveys, archives, and more.  Particularly of note is the "best films of all time/best directors of all time" poll of directors/critics that happens every ten years (the next ranking will occur in 2012), going back to 1952; this poll is searchable by critics, directors, and films.  In short, you can see Thomas Elsaesser's favorite films/directors; you can see which critics/directors chose Citizen Kane as the best; you can see Quentin Tarantino's favorite films/directors, and more.  A thrilling way to lose yourself within a critic-director-film labyrinth. 

Film Blogs/Portals

A.V. Club:  The media section of The Onion, this link features shorter reviews of films and interviews with film figures.  An entertaining site to browse.  Less scholarly or in-depth than other sites. 

Film Studies for Free:  Arguably the most comprehensive and impressively thorough source of online film scholarship; technically a blog, this website exhaustively gathers online links, PDFs, video interviews on a range of topics.  A convenient search engine makes past blog entries easily accessible. 

Girish Shambu:  Hendrix College's first and foremost favorite film blogger is the generous and intelligent Girish Shambu!  We invited Dr. Shambu on the basis of his impressive film writing on this blog, which has generated an ever-expanding online community that brings together scholarly and popular cinephiles. 

indieWIRE:  A "Hollywood Reporter" or "Variety" for independent (or sort-of independent) films.  Look here for daily news feeds about awards, deals, interviews, openings, and more.  Also includes an impressive collection of renown film figures as bloggers.

Movieline:  Stephanie Zacharek's reviews are the highlight of this entertainment news site. 

Moving Image Source:  The Museum of the Moving Image's snazzy Internet presence includes dazzling video essays, reviews, and articles by leading critics and scholars; the site also features a Research Guide that links not only to material associated with the Museum of the Moving Image but also to associations and resources beyond the Museum's virtual walls.

Rotten Tomatoes:  A comprehensive collection of online film reviews from sources ranging from well-reputed critics to more informal websites.  Highly recommended as a starting place for research about any film; click the "top critics" tab to limit your search to the most esteemed film reviewers.

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University