G.R. Little Library: Film Theory: Film Databases

Films on Library Databases

CuriosityStream This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform of documentary series and features covering every topic from space exploration to adventure to the secret life of pets. With thousands of titles, including exclusive originals, CuriosityStream delivers shows across the full spectrum of the non-fiction genre to demystify science, nature, history, technology, society, lifestyle, and more.
In addition to browser use, a CuriosityStream app is available through Roku, Apple TV Channels and Apple TV, Xbox One, Amazon Fire TV, Sprint, Google Chromecast, iOS, Android, Amazon Prime Video Channels, YouTube TV, Sling TV, and Comcast Xfinity on Demand.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based streaming video service that allows users the ability to view thousands of documentary videos and clips. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and create personalize folders. Includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches, and newsreels.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming feature films licensed for academic use by the library. Instructors can request films from the Swank catalog to be added to the ECSU collection, which can then be viewed online.

Films available online

Internet Archive feature films
Feature films, shorts, trailers, and silent films in the public domain available for downloading. You can browse by title, search or browse through sub-collections.
PBS Video
Films and television shows available through PBS. Search or browse by featured programs, local programs, and popular programs.
ITVS Films
Independent films and documentaries many of which have been shown on Independent Lens on PBS. Browse by films shown on television and online only films.

Finding Films in the G.R. Little Library

The DVDs are located on the first floor of the G.R. Little Library. Once you've located the film that you want, take it to the check-out desk. Ask a librarian to locate the film or feel free to browse it by title on the stacks. For films by specific directors, search using their name in the author field. To view your film in the library, you are welcome to check out headphones and laptops and watch your film in the library.