G.R. Little Library: Race, Gender and Ethnicity Studies : Race Studies

Race Studies

Race Studies is a dynamic interdisciplinary field of academic inquiry focused on understanding the complex intersections of race, gender, and ethnicity in society. This library guide serves as a valuable resource for students, researchers, and scholars seeking to explore the multifaceted dimensions of these critical social constructs. It features a diverse collection of books, journals, and online resources that delve into the historical, cultural, and socio-political aspects of race, gender, and ethnicity. From examining the experiences of marginalized communities to analyzing the impact of systemic discrimination and the evolution of identity politics, this guide offers comprehensive materials that facilitate critical engagement and informed discussions. Whether one is interested in social justice, identity formation, or contemporary challenges, this guide is an essential tool for deepening understanding and fostering meaningful dialogue on race, gender, and ethnicity.

Selected Books

Race by Alan H. Goodman; Yolanda T. Moses; Joseph L. Jones; American Anthropological Association (As told to)
Call Number: E185.86 .G637 2012
ISBN: 9780470657140
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
Featuring new and engaging essays by noted anthropologists and illustrated with full color photos, RACE: Are We So Different? is an accessible and fascinating look at the idea of race, demonstrating how current scientific understanding is often inconsistent with popular notions of race. Taken from the popular national public education project and museum exhibition, it explores the contemporary experience of race and racism in the United States and the often-invisible ways race and racism have influenced laws, customs, and social institutions.
Remaking Black Power by Ashley D. Farmer
Call Number: HQ1161 .F37 2017
ISBN: 9781469634371
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
In this comprehensive history, Ashley D. Farmer examines black women's political, social, and cultural engagement with Black Power ideals and organizations. Complicating the assumption that sexism relegated black women to the margins of the movement, Farmer demonstrates how female activists fought for more inclusive understandings of Black Power and social justice by developing new ideas about black womanhood.
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Guido Bolaffi (Editor); Raffaele Bracalenti (Editor); Peter H. Braham (Editor); Sandro Gindro (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847876201
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Race, ethnicity and culture are concepts of extreme relevance in society today, and yet continue to be interpreted in various and often contradictory ways. The Dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
Black Lives Matter by Laurie Collier Hillstrom
Call Number: E185.615 .H518 2018
ISBN: 9781440865701
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
This concise yet comprehensive reference book provides an overview of the Black Lives Matter movement, from its emergence in response to the police-involved deaths of unarmed black people to its development as a force for racial justice in America.
Handbook of Black Studies by Molefi Kete Asante; Maulana Karenga
Call Number: E184.7 .H25 2006
ISBN: 9780761928409
Publication Date: 2005-11-10
The Handbook of Black Studies is the first resource to bring together research and scholarship in the field of African-American studies in one volume. Editors Molefi Kete Asante and Maulana Karenga, along with a pre-eminent group of contributors, examine various aspects of the field of Black Studies. Organized into three parts, this Handbook explores historical and cultural foundations, philosophical and conceptual bases, and critical and analytical concepts.

Selected Articles

The Legacy of Disadvantage in the United States
This article talks about how race is still a large factor in America today. How it effects different races and problems they face.
Somewhere between Jim Crow & Post-Racialism: Reflections on the Racial Divide in America Today
In 1965, when Dædalus published two issues on “The Negro American,” civil rights in the United States had experienced a series of triumphs and setbacks. The Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 extended basic citizenship rights to African Americans, and there was hope for further positive change. Yet 1965 also saw violent confrontations in Selma, Alabama, and the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles that were fueled by racial tensions

put here an image

Selected Journals

African American Review
Features essays on African American literature, art and cultures including interviews, fiction and poems.
Journal of Black Studies
For the last half of a century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, the Journal of Black Studies is published six times per year. This means a greater number of important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans and Blacks can now be given voice.