Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Peer-Reviewed Explained

How to find peer reviewed articles

Peer-Reviewed Journal Examples

Below are selected examples of peer-reviewed Art Journals. Please check with your liaison librarian to find out more titles in your discipline. 

- You might need to do an additional search such as going to the journal's homepage to make sure it is a peer-reviewed or a scholarly journal.

- Please go to the journal finder on the library's main page and search for a specific journal title or go to the advanced search option to search within a specific subject discipline. http://journalfinder.wtcox.com/ecsu/

PEER-REVIEWED ART JOURNALS YOU SHOULD KNOW

African Arts is a peer-reviewed, quarterly published, an academic journal devoted to the study and discussion of traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts. (Available full-text from JSTOR database until 2014)

African Studies Review The African Studies Review is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering African studies. The journal also publishes book and film reviews. (Available full-text from Proquest database until 2003)

American Art publishes high-quality peer-reviewed innovative scholarship on the history of art and related visual culture by University of Chicago Press (Available full-text from Art & Architecture Complete database until 1997.)

Archives of Asian Art is an annual academic journal covering the arts of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Each issue contains articles by scholars of art and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums. (Available full-text from Proquest database until 2010)

The Art Bulletin is a peer-reviewed journal (Available full-text from JSTOR as until 2016)

Journal of Art Historiography is a peer-reviewed journal (Available "open-access" up to current time - published by Department of Art History, University of Birmingham)

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Art is a peer-reviewed journal published in the United Kingdom by Taylor and Francis (Available full-text from Proquest until 2011)

Search Tip:  Peer-reviewed journals may also contain items that are not peer-reviewed, such as letters to the editor, opinion pieces, and book reviews. Even if you check the peer-review limiter box, you still need to examine the items carefully to be sure they are articles.

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University