Skip to Main Content
Please Contact Me for More Assistance
American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)
AASLH provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful to all Americans. American Assoc. for State and Local History 1717 Church St. Nashville, TN 37203-2991 Phone: 615.320.3203
American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS)
ASECS is an interdisciplinary group dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in all aspects of the period from the later seventeenth through the early nineteenth century. American Soc. for 18th-Century Studies Wake Forest Univ. PO Box 7897 Winston Salem, NC 27109 Phone: 336.727.4694
An important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid.
British Library EthOS
The British Library's EthOS offers access to digitized or born digital graduate theses free of charge. Create an account and explore.
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.
Documenting the American South
DocSouth is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
National Council for History Education, Inc. (NCHE)
To defend and promote history teaching and learning at all levels K-16 and beyond. NCHE has committed to accomplishing this through its tri-partite alliance with historians, teachers, and members of the public. National Council for History Education 13940 Cedar Rd. #393 Cleveland, OH 44118 Phone: 240.696.6600
North Carolina ECHO
Online access to the special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural institutions.
North Carolina History Project
The North Carolina History Project is an edited, evolving, and free online encyclopedia of North Carolina that also includes commentaries, lesson plans, and a community calendar.
Organization of American Historians (OAH)
The OAH is an association of historians dedicated to the promotion of teaching and scholarship about the history of the United States both before and after its formation as a nation-state. The organization pursues these goals by encouraging and supporting excellence in historic research, interpretation, and publication; advancing the teaching and practice of American history at all levels and in all settings; promoting the widest possible access to historical sources and scholarship and the widest possible discussion of historical questions and controversies, including advocacy for professional scholarly standards where appropriate; generating support for the preservation, dissemination, and exhibition of sources dealing with the history of the United States; and encouraging respectful and equitable treatment for all practitioners of history.
Organization of History Teachers (OHT)
To provide history teachers from kindergarten through grade 12 with information on professional opportunities and national developments in the teaching of history. It also functions as an advocate for history in the pre-collegiate curriculum. Organization of History Teachers History Dept., George Sch. 1690 Newtown-Langhorne Rd. Newtown, PA 18940-2414 Phone: 215.968.3913
Society for Military History (SMH)
To stimulate and advance the study of military history, especially that of the United States, and to diffuse knowledge thereof by publications, displays, and otherwise. Society for Military History George C. Marshall Library Lexington, VA 24450-1600 Phone: 540.464.7468
World History Encyclopedia
A non-profit organization publishing the world's most-read history encyclopedia.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University