Founded in 1989, and online since 1995, Artnet is the leading resource for the international art market, and the principal platform for art auctions on the Internet. We offer a wide range of art market resources, providing a place for people in the art world to buy, sell, and research Fine Art, Design, and Decorative Art.
Atlas allows the direct online consultation of 30, 000 works of art exhibited in the Louvre. Online visitors can access the basic information displayed on labels accompanying works in the museum, together with authoritative commentary and analysis by the curators and staff.
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
AICT is intended to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
High quality images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the world's major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.
Comprehensive index to over 7,000 artists and links to approximately 80,000 works, primarily painting and sculpture.
Artsy Education offers 25,000+ downloadable open-access images. Powered by The Art Genome Project, Artsy is a free website with a library of 50,000+ images from 650+ museum, nonprofit, and gallery partners.
Access to thousands of fine arts images and browsable by subject; registration required to save images and high resolution, watermark-free images available with purchase.
Tens of thousands of high resolution images from the Folger Shakespeare Library, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art.
Explore selected galleries virtually, through a kind of “interior” street view; offers extremely high resolution images of artworks contained within those galleries/museums;form virtual collections of artworks that can be shared and annotated.
Enjoy more than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.
The Smithsonian's Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery collection of 40,000 digitized Asian and American artworks.
PBS Arts unifies communities nationwide, represents diverse audiences and connects us through a shared understanding and passion for dance, music, theater and more.
The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) Online Image Collections
Portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching and research.
Visual Collections-- Images of Art, History, and Culture
Contains dozens of digital image collections from museums, universities, and private collections throughout the world. Includes fine artwork, photographs, maps, architecture and other items. Some copyright restrictions may apply.
Searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries; dual mode allows you to view images side-by-side to compare and contrast.
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool.
Smarthistory offers more than 1500 videos and essays on art from around the world and across time.
Arts of the Albemarle (AoA) is a regional non-profit arts council (representing Pasquotank, Gates, and Camden Counties) located in Downtown Elizabeth City in the recently renovated historical Lowry-Chesson Building, now called The Center. This world-class facility houses the Jaquelin Jenkins Gallery, a home to over 250 artists, craftsman and photographers, the AoA School of the Arts, a multi-discipline visual and performing arts after – school instructional program and the Maguire Theatre, a State-of-the-Art 230 Seat performance space.
The Louvre, or the Louvre Museum, is the world's largest art museum and a historic monument in Paris, France.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is one of the world's largest and finest art museums. Its collection includes more than two million works of art spanning five millennia.
The National Gallery of Art – the nation's museum – preserves, collects, exhibits, and fosters an understanding of works of art.
An art museum in Raleigh, North Carolina. It opened in 1956 as the first major museum collection in the country to be formed by state legislation and funding. The NCMA is a division of the NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.
The North Carolina Arts Council is an organization in North Carolina that provides grants to artists, musicians, and arts organizations. The group's mission is "To Make North Carolina a Better State Through the Arts".
Set up a Refworks account to keep track of the article and books your discover in databases.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University
