Skip to Main Content

Collection Assessment and Reduction: Welcome

Information about the 2017 library Collection Assessment and Reduction project, reviewing collection vibrancy before the 2017-2019 NCConnect Bond-funded library renovation.

3 Easy Steps to Provide Feedback:

Frequently Asked Questions:

What do I do?

  1. Review the lists of items for removal in the relevant subjects.
  2. Select items that you believe are important for G.R. Little Library to continue to house in it's collections.
  3. Request these items stay by submitting a Retention Request Form for each item.

Please send in your retention requests before September 1, 2017.

Why should I contribute to the project?

G.R. Little Library would like the input and assistance from all ECSU faculty in analyzing and reducing the library's physical collection of books.  This is an effort to reduce the book-storage footprint in the library and provide more space for students. You are the subject expert and we need your expertise to cull the collection appropriately.  

Will my program continue to be supported by the library?

The simple answer to this is YES, of course. This project will create a more focused, useful, relevant book collection to support faculty instruction, research, and student learning.

What is the intended outcome of the collection reduction project?

There are two main goals of the project:

  1.  Reduce the size of its print manuscript collection by approximately 33% in order to decrease the foot print of the print collections, allowing for more square footage to be allocated to student use after the 2017-2019 library renovations.
  2. Create a more current and relevant collection to support the university’s academic endeavors.

How were items selected for removal?

  • Published in or before 1990
  • 0 circulation stats (checkouts & in-library use)
  • Owned by G.R. Little Library more than 10 years
  • Duplicates of any age

 

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University