Skip to main content

Education Resources: Welcome

G. R. Little Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog


More Research Tools: Advanced Search | Databases | Journal Titles

G. R. Little Library Hours

Spring 2020 Hours

*Special Note: All ECSU Library Locations are temporarily closed due to COVID-19*

*Librarians are still available to assist you remotely*

Monday - Thursday 7:30am - 10:00pm

Friday 7:30am - 5:00pm

Saturday 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday 2:00pm - 10:00pm

 

Search Terms

Database Search Tips

  • The key to being a savvy online searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines.

  • This is important because searching library databases is a bit different from searching Google.

  • The techniques described in this section will enable you to quickly retrieve relevant information from the thousands of records in a database.

  • When you search a database and do not get the results you expect, Ask a librarian for advice.  Library staff are happy to help you find what you need.

Subject headings describe the content of each item in a database. Use these headings to find relevant items on the same topic. Searching by subject headings (a.k.a. descriptors) is the most precise way to search article databases.

Keyword searching is how you typically search web search engines. Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

NC Knows - 24 Hour Reference Service

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Electronic Resources Librarian

Ask a Viking

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University