Skip to Main Content
Credit given to Erin Owens (Newton Gresham Library) for sharing her LibGuide.
The sources below will help you find actual sets of raw data, not just aggregated statistics about the data.
Federal link to datasets by topic
DataCite searches across multiple platforms for datasets that have Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs).
Searches Earth and environmental data across multiple member repositories.
Data Portal of the Natural History Museum (London)
"The Museum is committed to open access and open science, and has launched the Data Portal to make its research and collections datasets available online. It allows anyone to explore, download and reuse the data for their own research."
From site: "The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data."
Developed for the storage and collaboration of datasets on many different topics
European Data Portal
"The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included."
European Union Open Data Portal
Single point of access to a growing range of data produced by the institutions and other bodies of the European Union. Data are free to use, reuse, link and redistribute for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
240,000+ economic and financial time-series data from U.S. and international sources. Also provides tools to download data, create maps and graphs, and more. (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Google Dataset Search
"Similar to how Google Scholar works, Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page."
Google Public Data Explorer
View details about the Public Data Explorer
"Kaggle is an online community platform for data scientists and machine learning enthusiasts. Kaggle allows users to collaborate with other users, find and publish datasets, use GPU integrated notebooks, and compete with other data scientists to solve data science challenges."
Free with registration. Provides a wide-range of free datasets and online courses with certification.
Mendeley Data Search
Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Mendeley Data Search helps others to find and access this data.
Pew Research Center
Data about a variety of political and social trends in America.
From website: "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
Re3Data: Registry of Research Data Repositories
Tool to search and browse for data repositories in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
"The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms."
allows simultaneous searching of 24 databases from UN Statistics and Population Divisions, UN specialized agencies (International Labour Organization, Food and Agriculture Organization [FAO], World Health Organization), and member states (statistics collected by the national statistical agencies of member states).
This is the website of the United Nations Statistical Division, containing statistics collected by the statistical division and publications produced by the statistical division.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Free Geographic Maps & Data Sets Online
These online datasets may be helpful or relevant to the study of Environmental and Geosciences. It is not meant to be a comprehensive list of all datasets available. Please contact the subject librarian for additional assistance.
"Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park" by National Park Service
Geospatial - Data.gov
This government website serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data. The portal is a catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.
National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
The National Geologic Map Database contains over 88,000 maps, along with a lexicon of geologic names. The site also contains basic information and educational material about geologic maps.
National Historical Geographic Information System (GIS)
Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.
NYU Spatial Data Repository
Note: Some datasets are freely available, others are proprietary to NYU users.
"The Spatial Data Repository (SDR) is NYU's portal for previewing and discovering geospatial data. The collection includes resources from open data and proprietary resources, and users can download layers and work with them in many GIS platforms." (New York Univ Libraries, Data Services)
Additional statistical data
Office of the State Demographer
"The new North Carolina State Demographer data platform houses the latest data produced by the Office of the State Demographer. The platform allows users to create visualizations, download full (or partial) datasets, and create maps. Registered users can save their visualizations and will be notified of dataset updates."
Statistical Abstract of the United States from the GPO (1878-2012)
Contains statistics about many aspects of the United States for 2012 and earlier editions. New editions will not be added to this site after 2012.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University