G.R. Little Library: Introduction to Music Literature: Selected Music Reference Items

Selected Music Reference Items

Use these music reference books to gather background knowledge on music history topics. The below list has selected resources and it is not a comprehensive list. Come to the music library to find out more reference resources. Also, please note that since these are reference resources, they can be only used in the music library.

The Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: ML160 .T18 2005 V.1 -V.6
A collection of essays on the history of Western music. The first two volumes can be especially helpful for you if you need ideas for your research paper.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Call Number: ML100 .H37 2003
With authoritative scholarship,The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments by Robert Dearling
Call Number: ML102.I5 I5 1996
ISBN: 9780028646671
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
This handy reference work contains information on the history of music and musical instruments.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: ML100. G16 1998 V1.- V.10
ISBN: 9780824060350
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
This 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group.
Also available online here
Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Opera by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: ML 102. O6 B55 2004
ISBN: 9780823077212
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Features an introduction to each period, as well as its key composers, personalities, styles, forms, and instruments.
Baker's Dictionary of Music by Nicolas Slonimsky (Editor); Richard Kassell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028647913
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
A to Z listing of musicians, famous compositions, musical terms, and instruments. It covers everything from Bach to rock. It includes essays on musical topics.
Encyclopedia of African American Music by Emmett G. Price (Editor); Tammy L. Kernodle (Editor); Horace Maxille (Editor)
Call Number: ML 101. U6 E53 2011 V.1-V.3
ISBN: 9780313341991
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
You will find over 400 in-depth entries by more than 100 scholars on a vast range of the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement, the Civil Rights Movement, and numerous others.
ISBN: 9780810888708
Latin American Classical Composers by Ficher/Schleifer/Gal; Gary Galván (Editor); Martha Furman Schleifer
ISBN: 9780810888708
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
A biographical dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean.