Artificial Intelligence

In this section, you will find frequently asked questions about the usage of AI in research.  

The following document may prove particularly valuable for faculty, and students within the UNC system, offering guidance to the research community by addressing some of the commonly asked important questions by scholars.

Generative AI Usage Guidance Research Community" document from the Provost of UNC at Chapel Hill.

The below Questions are directly quoted from this document: 

• How is authorship determined?

Different disciplines, PIs, units, and departments may or may not have established authorship guidelines. However, guidelines exist in journals, e.g., Plos authorship guidance, Nature Portfolio authorship guidance, and in professional organizations, e.g., APA and the ICMJE.

• Can ChatGPT or other forms of generative AI be an author?

Authors, in general, are required to meet multiple criteria, including accountability, responsibility, and providing approval of the work to be published. The likelihood of generative AI systems, i.e., ChatGPT, to fulfill the requirements to be an author is low. Elsevier’s authorship policy has taken the position that generative AI and AI-assisted technologies cannot be an author on a published work. Similar positions prohibiting generative AI tools, i.e., ChatGPT being listed as an author on a paper are provided by the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), World Association of Medical Editors (WAME ), Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA Network ) and Science Journals as examples.

• Can I subject generative AI output (e.g., ChatGPT) to authenticate screening?

Yes, although there are no assurances that iThenticate screening will be foolproof. First, you can access iThenticate. All researchers at UNC can use their Onyen log to create a personal workspace.

• If I use generative AI like ChatGPT to create new content, should I or do I need to cite it?

Use of generative AI information may require proper citation depending on context and how the tool is used. Examples of how to cite ChatGPT: ..."

Here are some more fundamental questions and answers about AI from Professor John McCarthy.

Using AI tools and library databases serve different purposes and have distinct advantages and limitations. Here's a comparison of the two:

AI Tools:

1. Broad Data Sources: AI tools can analyze a wide range of data sources, including websites, social media, and unstructured text, providing access to a diverse set of information beyond traditional academic literature.

2. Automation and Efficiency: AI tools can automate tasks like summarization, sentiment analysis, and content generation, saving time and effort for users.

3. Speed and Real-Time Analysis: AI tools can provide real-time analysis and insights, making them suitable for quickly monitoring trends and developments.

4. Customization: Many AI tools can be customized and trained to meet specific user needs, allowing for tailored solutions.

5. Natural Language Processing: AI tools can understand and process human language, making them user-friendly for non-experts.

Library Databases:

1. Credibility and Quality: Library databases curate high-quality, peer-reviewed academic content, ensuring the reliability and credibility of the sources.

2. Specialized Collections: Library databases offer access to specialized collections and journals specific to various academic disciplines.

3. Advanced Search Features: Library databases provide advanced search options, allowing users to perform precise searches using keywords, Boolean operators, and filters.

4. Academic Integrity: The content in library databases is typically subject to rigorous academic review and editorial standards, reducing the risk of misinformation.

5. Full-Text Access: Many library databases offer full-text access to articles, books, and reports, facilitating comprehensive research.

Considerations for Choosing:

1. Purpose: Choose the tool based on your research or information needs. If you require peer-reviewed academic literature, library databases are a better choice. If you need real-time social media analysis, AI tools may be more suitable.

2. Scope: Consider the scope of your research. AI tools can provide a broader perspective, while library databases are focused on academic content.

3. Credibility: For academic research, prioritize library databases due to their credibility and peer-reviewed content. AI tool outputs may require additional verification.

4. Expertise: AI tools often require less expertise to use, while library databases may require more advanced search skills.

5. Interactivity: AI tools can be more interactive and offer features like sentiment analysis, which may not be available in library databases.

In summary, the choice between AI tools and library databases depends on your specific research goals, the credibility and quality of sources you require, and the nature of the data you are analyzing. Often, a combination of both AI tools and library databases can provide a comprehensive research strategy, leveraging the strengths of each.