Information Architecture and UX

Information architecture has changed dramatically since the mid-1990s and earlier conceptions of the world and the internet being different and separate have given way to a much more complex scenario in the present day. In the post-digital world that we now inhabit the digital and the physical blend easily and our activities and usage of information takes place through multiple contexts and via multiple devices and unstable, emergent choreographies. Information architecture now is steadily growing into a channel- or medium-specific multi-disciplinary framework, with contributions coming from architecture, urban planning, design and systems thinking, cognitive science, new media, anthropology. All these have been heavily reshaping the practice: conversations about labelling, websites, and hierarchies are replaced by conversations about sense-making, place-making, design, architecture, cross media, complexity, embodied cognition and their application to the architecture of information spaces as places we live in in an increasingly large part of our lives.Via narratives, frameworks, references, approaches and case-studies this book explores these changes and offers a way to reconceptualize the shifting role and nature of information architecture where information permeates digital and physical space, users are producers and products are increasingly becoming complex cross-channel or multi-channel services.

The gap between who designers and developers imagine their users are, and who those users really are can be the biggest problem with product development. Observing the User Experience will help you bridge that gap to understand what your users want and need from your product, and whether they'll be able to use what you've created. Filled with real-world experience and a wealth of practical information, this book presents a complete toolbox of techniques to help designers and developers see through the eyes of their users. It provides in-depth coverage of 13 user experience research techniques that will provide a basis for developing better products, whether they're Web, software or mobile based. In addition, it's written with an understanding of how software is developed in the real world, taking tight budgets, short schedules, and existing processes into account. ·Explains how to create usable products that are still original, creative, and unique ·A valuable resource for designers, developers, project managers--anyone in a position where their work comes in direct contact with the end user. ·Provides a real-world perspective on research and provides advice about how user research can be done cheaply, quickly and how results can be presented persuasively ·Gives readers the tools and confidence to perform user research on their own designs and tune their software user experience to the unique needs of their product and its users

We want to create stunning user experiences. We want our UX to drive the success of our business with useful and usable software products. This book draws on the wisdom and training of Jakob Nielsen and Don Norman to help you get your UX right - in 101 ways! 101 UX Principles shows you the 101 most important things you need to know about usability and design. A practical reference for UX professionals, and a shortcut to greatness for anyone who needs a clear and wise selection of principles to guide their UX success. Learn the key principles that drive brilliant UX design. Enjoy 101 Principles including 'Good UX has a Beginning, a Middle, and an End', 'Make Your Links Look Like Links', 'Don't Use Obsolete Icons', 'Decide Whether an Interaction Should Be Obvious, Easy, or Possible', 'Test with Real Users', 'Making the most of fonts', 'Good UX for search results', and 'Show your user - don't tell your user!' "Good to read from beginning to end, and a nice dip-in-and-out text, the chapter titles reminded me of principles I don't even think about explicitly when I likely should.

The gap between who designers and developers imagine their users are, and who those users really are can be the biggest problem with product development. Observing the User Experience will help you bridge that gap to understand what your users want and need from your product, and whether they'll be able to use what you've created. Filled with real-world experience and a wealth of practical information, this book presents a complete toolbox of techniques to help designers and developers see through the eyes of their users. It provides in-depth coverage of 13 user experience research techniques that will provide a basis for developing better products, whether they're Web, software or mobile based. In addition, it's written with an understanding of how software is developed in the real world, taking tight budgets, short schedules, and existing processes into account. ·Explains how to create usable products that are still original, creative, and unique ·A valuable resource for designers, developers, project managers--anyone in a position where their work comes in direct contact with the end user. ·Provides a real-world perspective on research and provides advice about how user research can be done cheaply, quickly and how results can be presented persuasively ·Gives readers the tools and confidence to perform user research on their own designs and tune their software user experience to the unique needs of their product and its users

A foundational yet practical approach to UX that delivers more creative, collaborative, holistic, and mature design solutions, regardless of your background or experienceAbout This BookImprove your UX design awareness and skillsGain greater confidence to know when you have delivered a “good” UX designLearn by example using a book designed by a UX mind for a UX mindWho This Book Is ForThis book is written for the beginner as well as the experienced UX practitioner, regardless of team size, company size, or job title. It is also intended for anyone with an interest in UX, engages with UX, is involved in any way in interactive problem solving and design, or simply wants to learn more about what we do, how we do it, and why those in the UX field are so passionate about wanting to do it better.What You Will LearnAwaken your UX mind and dispel the myths of non-UX thinkersCreate the six optimal conditions for your best ideas to appearIdentify and incorporate the ten design principles found in all good UX designDevelop a broader understanding of Information Architecture (IA) to better engage, guide, and informDevelop a fundamental understanding of patterns and the properties that create themRaise your level of UX maturity with a strategy that transforms your approach to problem solving and helps others understand the true value of your workUtilize important tools of the UX trade that never go out of styleIncrease your knowledge of UX, incorporate valuable ideas and insights into your work, and look at design from a very unique perspectiveIn DetailWritten in an easy-to-read style, this book provides real-world examples, a historical perspective, and a holistic approach to design that will ground you in the fundamental essentials of interactive design, allow you to make more informed design decisions, and increase your understanding of UX in order to reach the highest levels of UX maturity. As you will see, UX is more than just delighting customers and users. It is also about thinking like a UX practitioner, making time for creativity, recognizing good design when you see it, understanding Information Architecture as more than just organizing and labeling websites, using design patterns to influence user behavior and decision making, approaching UX from a business perspective, transforming your client's and company's fundamental understanding of UX and its true value, and so much more.This book is an invaluable resource of knowledge, perspective, and inspiration for those seeking to become better UX designers, increase their confidence, become more mature design leaders, and deliver solutions that provide measurable value to stakeholders, customers, and users regardless of project type, size, and delivery method.Style and approachAn in-depth, easy to read, and entertaining journey into and through the world of UX using real-world examples, thoughtful illustrations, and engaging quotes to inspire and explain fully the how and why of UX in a practical and impactful way and used immediately in your own work.

A practical guide filled with case studies and easy solutions to solve the most common user experience issuesKey FeaturesUnderstand and fix the pain points of a bad UX design to ensure greater customer satisfaction.Correct UX issues at various stages of a UX Design with the help of different methodologies for fixing bad UXsSee best practices and established principles in UX with case studies illustrating these practices and principlesBook DescriptionHave your web applications been experiencing more hits and less conversions? Are bad designs consuming your time and money? This book is the answer to these problems. With intuitive case studies, you'll learn to simplify, fix, and enhance some common, real-world application designs. You'll look at the common issues of simplicity, navigation, appearance, maintenance, and many more.The challenge that most UX designers face is to ensure that the UX is user-friendly. In this book, we address this with individual case studies starting with some common UX applications and then move on to complex applications. Each case study will help you understand the issues faced by a bad UX and teach you to break it down and fix these problems. As we progress, you'll learn about the information architecture, usability testing, iteration, UX refactoring, and many other related features with the help of various case studies. You'll also learn some interesting UX design tools with the projects covered in the book. By the end of the book, you'll be armed with the knowledge to fix bad UX designs and to ensure great customer satisfaction for your applications.What you will learnLearn about ROI and metrics in UXUnderstand the importance of getting stakeholders involvedLearn through real cases how to fix bad UXIdentify and fix UX issues using different methodologies Learn how to turn insights and finding into practical UX solutions Learn to validate, test and measure the UX solutions implemented Learn about UX refactoring Who this book is for This book is for anyone confronted with a poorly designed UX. It is ideal for UX professionals who want to solve problems with existing UX designs, and UX designers who want to enhance their designs or analyze and rectify where they went wrong.

Learn every step you need for product design and development Key Features Explore all the tools that you need to be a complete UX designer Code the product designs you've created to become a full-stack designer Build an amazing portfolio with real-world projects Book Description Designing user experience (UX) is one of the most important aspects of a project, as it has a direct effect on how customers think of your company. The process of designing a user experience is one of the most challenging yet rewarding aspects of product development. Hands-On UX Design for Developers will teach you how to create amazing user experiences for products from scratch. This book starts with helping you understand the importance of a good UX design and the role of a UX designer.

The Handbook of Human Factors in Web Designacovers basic human factors issues relating to screen design, input devices, and information organization and processing, as well as addresses newer features which will become prominent in the next generation of Web technologies. These include multimodal interfaces, wireless capabilities, and agents that can improve convenience and usability. Written by leading researchers and/or practitioners in the field, this volume reflects the varied backgrounds and interests of individuals involved in all aspects of human factors and Web design and includes chapters on a full range of topics. Divided into 12 sections, this book covers: historical backgrounds and overviews of Human Factors and Ergonomics (HFE) specific subfields of HFE issues involved in content preparation for the Web information search and interactive information agents designing for universal access and specific user populations the importance of incorporating usability evaluations in the design process task analysis, meaning analysis, and performance modeling specific Web applications in academic and industrial settings Web psychology and information security emerging technological developments and applications for the Web the costs and benefits of incorporating human factors for the Web and the state of current guidelines The Handbook of Human Factors in Web Designais intended for researchers and practitioners concerned with all aspects of Web design. It could also be used as a text for advanced courses in computer science, industrial engineering, and psychology."

Though code is what makes software run, its user experience (UX) is what makes it a success. Designing a user experience requires a combination of computer science skills and an artistic eye, especially when it comes to the user interface (UI). What users see and interact with will greatly influence their reaction to a piece of software. This book teaches the importance of UX and UI designers and introduces the practices of good software design, all while stimulating readers with unique, engaging activities.