Skip to Main Content
Use the databases below to help find articles relating to music education. If you're not sure what words to search, try out some of the search term combinations on the left.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A leading resource for scholarly research in almost every field. Provides access to thousands of full-text journals, periodicals, reports, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A database of education literature and resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources on a wide variety of subjects. JSTOR will help you discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A database of abstracts of literature in the field of psychology from the 1800s to the present. It is produced by the American Psychological Association.
North Carolina Teacher Resources This link opens in a new window
Contains links to all the information needed to apply for a job in North Carolina public schools, including information about licensure, national board certification, application forms, online job listings and application system, and local job fairs.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals. For full access, create a free account using your ECSU email address ( https://www.chronicle.com/account/create ), and then log in to the Chronicle website.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Digest of Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A research database for education students, professionals, and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Education Week, is recognized as the premier, most trusted source of news, information, and analysis on American pre-collegiate education. Education Week seeks to advance the quality of K-12 education, using a variety of tools both old and new, including the EPE Research Center, Education Week Spotlight reports, and EPE webinars which bring fresh insights and advice to educators online.
Open Education North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Contains free, open textbooks that have been curated for the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina's 2 and 4-year colleges and universities. Faculty can adopt these open educational resources (OER) to save their students money and lower the overall cost of higher education.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
A gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. It includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains digital humanities and social science content from over 250 university presses and scholarly societies around the world.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A platform for searching many ProQuest databases simultaneously. Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, and videos.
G.R. Little Library
Elizabeth City State University