Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to Integrating Library Resources Into Blackboard Courses

A step-by-step guide on how to add library resources to your online courses in Blackboard, including online video, direct links to articles and databases, eBooks, and more.

Adding a link to a library database in Blackboard

  1. Go to the G.R. Little Library A-Z databases list, here: http://libguides.ecsu.edu/az.php
  2. Locate the database you want to link to on Blackboard.
  3. To the right of the database entry, click the Share icon:

4. Copy the database link and paste it into the desired location in Blackboard, or enter your email address to have the link emailed to you.

Linking to an eJournal article or eBook from the library search screen

  1. Go to the library website: http://www.ecsu.edu/library/
  2. Using the blue search box, search for and locate the desired article or eBook.
  3. Click the 'Full Text Online' filter on the left side of the screen, to ensure that the full article is available for your students to read:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Click on the Permalink icon to the right of the article entry, and then click Copy to copy the link. Paste the link in your desired location in Blackboard.

Adding direct links from articles within library databases

Most of the library databases have their own tool for creating a link to an individual article or item. Here are some examples:

ProQuest Databases - Finding permalinks

  1. From the article, click the "All Options" button on the right side of the screen:

ProQuest - All Options

 

        2. In the box that appears, click anywhere on the URL at the top. The link will be automatically copied to your computer's clipboard, and you can then Paste it into the desired location in Blackboard:

 ProQuest databases - Permalink

 

 

EBSCO Databases - Finding permalinks

  1. From the article, click on the 'Permalink' icon from the list of tools on the right:

 

                2. A "Permalink" box will appear above the article, containing a URL. Copy the URL, and paste it to the desired location in Blackboard:

Ebsco database permalinks box

 

 

Gale databases - finding permalinks

  1. Locate the desired article or topic page, and click on the 'Get Link' icon on the upper-right:

Gale databases - permalink icon

       2. A box will appear with a URL that links to the article. Copy the URL, and past in the desired location in Blackboard

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University