Skip to Main Content

Social Work: Databases

Social Work Guide

Search the Catalog

Databases For Your Subject

ProQuest    Social Science Database (ProQuest)

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

 

EBSCOhost    Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Covering the latest concepts, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.

 

EBSCOhost    Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

 

newsbank    Access World News / Newsbank

Find information on topics related to business, criminal justice, the environment, education, general interests, international studies, political science, public health, social work and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, videos and web-only content including the Charlotte Observer, Daily Advance, News & Observer, USA Today and more.

 

CQ_Researcher    CQ Researcher

Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

 

NC Bureau of Investigation    Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)
North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. While the program's primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country's leading social indicators.
 

NCworks​    NCWorks Online

NCWorks Online and 80 local NCWorks Career Centers provide the help you need to get the job you want. Regardless of your circumstances or background, the career centers will help you become a more competitive candidate as you look for employment. This could include finding the career that best fits your interests, articulating the skills you have, improving your skills, interview preparation, and connecting you with employers.

 

Films on Demand Films on Demand - Counseling & Social Work

Films on Demand is a web-based video delivery service that allows users the ability to view thousands of streaming educational videos and Film Clips. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and create personalize folders.

Gale - Opposing Viewpoints    Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 

NCpedia     NCpedia

NCpedia is an online encyclopedia that highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people, and culture to enrich, educate, and inform.

PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Regional Accounts Data - Local Area Personal Income
Provided by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Personal income and population summary estimates; detailed county annual tables of income and employment; and wage and salary summary estimates. For North Carolina-specific information, select "North Carolina" from the list of states. County-level information will be displayed once you select the state.

Sanborn Maps North Carolina via Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Sanborn Maps allows for increased discovery and greater ease of use by making maps searchable by address and location. Examining temporal (time) changes is made even easier with tools that layer maps from different years on top of each other and over modern street, satellite, and hybrid layers via a Googleâ„¢ map interface.

ScienceDirect     Science Direct  
Science Direct provides over 1,000 journals covering all areas of science, medicine, and the social sciences.

SimplyMap via Geographic Research
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Available via NCLive.

 

SpringerLink
A searchable database of peer reviewed journals in the disciplines of behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

SAGE Full-Text Collectionsan award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by Publications and participating societies. These comprehensive databases include more than 256 journals, 360,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers.

State Center for Health Statistics
SCHS is responsible for data collection and research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. They have published a wide variety of reports in the past and are in the process of adding them to their Web site. Currently included are several compilations of mortality statistics (including one devoted to cancer), the "North Carolina Pocket Guide" of health statistics, "Vital Facts about Life in North Carolina", and a start toward providing pregnancy and birth statistics.

State Data Center
The North Carolina State Data Center (SDC) is a consortium of state and local agencies that provides information and data about the State and its component geographic areas. The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings. Recently a public health section was added which includes a link to the North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics. There is also a link to the North Carolina Statistical Register.

State Demographics
The State Demographics unit provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex. The annual estimates of the population of North Carolina counties and municipalities are used in the distribution of state shared revenues to local governments. County and state population projections, available by age, race (white/other) and sex, are used for long range planning.

Wiley Online Library
A searchable database of peer reviewed journals in the fields of business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and material science, psychology, and other social sciences.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition
Dramatically expands your periodical resources with electronic access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals. Coverage back as early as 1982 ensures that every search is as deep as it is broad. Users have access to information on virtually any subject.

 Journal Finder

 

Click Here to see a comprehensive list of journals that G.R. Little Library subscribes to.

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University