Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Aviation Science : Professional Organizations

Electronic and print periodicals in the field of aviation available through the G.R. Little Library

Professional Organizations

Air Force Association

An independent, nonprofit, civilian organization promoting public understanding of aerospace power and the pivotal role it plays in the security of the nation.

Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA)

Fosters the science and profession of air traffic control.

Air Transport Association

Membership includes major U.S. air carriers. Links to the full-text of the Airline Handbook, giving a brief history of aviation, deregulation, structure of the industry, airline economics, safety, airports and air traffic control. The site also provides limited statistics on air travel.

Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Provides member services that range from representation at the federal, state, and local levels to legal services, advice, and other assistance, AOPA has built a service organization that far exceeds any other in the aviation community.

Airline Pilots Association

Labor organization "representing 66,000 pilots at 43 airlines in the US and Canada."

Airports Council International

Membership includes more than 1,200 airports worldwide. Includes statistics.

American Association of Airport Executives

News, links to other sources, and publications and activities of the AAAE.

American Helicopter Society International

The AHS is the prime professional association for those interested in vertical flight

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

The site provides information on membership, meetings, publications, organizational structure, and career services for AIAA members and others; it also includes a search-able database of AIAA meetings papers.

American Society for Engineering Education

Multidisciplinary society committed to advancing excellence in all aspects of engineering and engineering technical education.

Aviation Accreditation Board International 

The Aviation Accreditation Board International advances quality aviation education worldwide through accreditation and leadership.

Experimental Aircraft Association

Membership organization consisting of 155,000 individuals interested in sport and recreational flying.

General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA)

National trade association represents manufacturers of fixed-wing aircraft, engines, components and avionics.

Helicopter Association International

Dedicated to promoting the helicopter as a safe and efficient method of transportation, and to the advancement of the civil helicopter industry.

National Aeronautic Association

Coordinates and promotes sport aviation, oversees U.S. aviation and space records.

National Air Traffic Controllers Association

Founded to ensure safety and longevity of air traffic controller positions around the nation.

National Air Transportation Association

A national association of aviation business service providers.

National Association of Flight Instructors

An international organization dedicated exclusively to 'raising and maintaining the professional standing of the flight instructor in the aviation community'.

National Business Aircraft Association (NBAA)

Represents the aviation interests of nearly 7,000 companies that own or operate general aviation aircraft as an aid to the conduct of their business, or are involved with some other aspect of business aviation.

Professional Aviation Maintenance Association (PAMA) 

Association of aviation maintenance professionals, together with other individuals, educational institutions and businesses involved in aviation maintenance.

Regional Airline Association

Represents U.S. regional airlines.

SAE International 

The Society of Automotive Engineers provides information about the publications, meetings, and other activities of a major association involved in all forms of self-propelled vehicles, on land or in the air.

Small Unmanned Aerial Systems

Small Unmanned Aerial Systems are fast being adopted for civilian research and survey roles around the world. Keeping a track on legislation and product developments sUAS news aims to be the news source for smaller UAV’s

Student Organizations at Parks College

Parks College has a number of student organizations which allow you connect with fellow students and serve the community.

The Ninety-Nines, Inc.

International Organization of Women Pilots Promotes women in aviation.

University Aviation Association (UAA)

Represents mostly colleges and universities that teach aviation.

 

This List was compiled by John Montre of Saint Louis University

Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University