A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
The most comprehensive place for searching and collecting African historical and cultural materials. The index covers over 4,500 collections from around the world, with in-depth coverage of sites primarily focused on African history and culture along with selective coverage of sites that include African materials generally. Also includes research guides, finding aids, and and organization directories.
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s): Adam Matthew Digital
AM Research Methods is an exciting new platform that introduces humanities and social science students to the key approaches and methodologies of working with source material. Designed to be used in the classroom or for independent study, this resource will empower students to engage with primary sources and assess historical evidence with confidence.
Materials are organized into three core pillars of learning: Learning Tools, Using Primary Sources, Types of Archives, Practical Guides to Research, Key Concepts in Historical Study.
AM Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s): Adam Matthew Digital
Through AM Explorer, you can now search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year.
Award-winning digital resources spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives
Discover millions of pages of unique primary source content which empower students and researchers to develop critical thinking
Powerful digital collections that transform teaching and research on important themes such as: Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History, and War and Conflict

Single point of access through AM Explorer with built-in federated search functionality across all collections
Range of additional features to enhance student engagement including Handwritten Text Recognition, Data Visualization, Video and Oral Histories
Credo Information Literacy Core This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): InfoLit Core
A set of online videos, tutorials, and quizzes covering information literacy. The resource aims to help students learn how to find relevant and reliable library and other research materials; formulate appropriate, workable research questions; and synthesize what they learn into a final product such as a research paper, including citations that are apt for their field.
Digital Library on American Slavery This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): DLAS
A database focused on bringing to light the names of enslaved individuals from court petitions, historical newspapers, and deed records held by Register of Deeds offices across North Carolina.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Essays that provide a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past. Includes background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness. It also includes a collection of point-of-view essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
A visualization and data-mapping tool with many data indicators across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime, and more.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Images

G.R. Little Library

Elizabeth City State University